WKYS 93.9 Ciara 10K Holiday DC graphic
93.9 WKYS Featured Video
Army National Guard Troops Come Home Early

Source: The Washington Post / Getty


National Guard has been activated to the following states – Florida, Iowa, Louisiana, New York, Rhode Island, and Washington in an effort to help curtail the spread of the coronavirus also known as Covid-19.

The Hill.comCom reported that 400 soldiers are activated at this time with 600 more readies to join them. The Guard is simply sent to assist local authorities in managing this crisis.

On Friday March 13, 2020, President Trump officially declared a national emergency. This allows the government to use federal aid for states impacted by the deadly virus. Many of the states are using this money to create the testing kits.

Utility companies reported that they will not disconnect services for nonpayment during the state of emergency. They understand their families are strained at the moment and may not be able to report to work.